Como Você Está Senhor Kim?

The first time I took a sibling-less vacation with my father, I was two and en route to Macau with him. As soon as we boarded, I clipped my seat belt together, looked out the window, and solemnly announced that it’d been a great trip, all before taking off.

Over twenty years would pass before this type of only-child-like vacation would take place again, this time with my dad to his homeland of South Korea. Since that last journey to Macau, both of us had done a bit of traveling; him for business, and I for pleasure.

Hanging with my dad in Gwanghwanmun in Seoul, Korea

Hanging with my dad in Gwanghwanmun in Seoul, Korea

My dad: Now that you’ve visited a few places, what are some of your favorite cities?
Me: Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Berlin. I like it here in Seoul too. What about you?
My dad: Seoul, Taipei, Beijing, Shanghai –
Me: I get it. You love Asia.
My dad: Is there anywhere else you want to go?
Me: Of course. I want to see more of Europe like London, Paris, and Rome and other parts of Asia. And Brazil.
My dad: You want to go to Rio de Niro, huh?
Me: …I want to visit Rio de Janeiro, the city. Not Robert de Niro, the actor.

Leave a Reply

