Please Pass the Pepper

As a protector of domestic borders and coastlines, my sister Jamie in the Coast Guard likes to remind us lowly civilians often of how her lifestyle is different from ours. While the rest of us carry on with our lives by going the gym and the grocery store, Jamie keeps herself otherwise occupied in a way we can only pretend to understand.

Where my Mom thinks my sister works

Where my Mom thinks my sister works

My mom: Jamie, do you have a pool on your ship?
Me: She’s in the Coast Guard, Mom. Not on a cruise.

Where my sister really works

Where my sister really works

The rest of us in society cannot even begin to relate to her on even one of her “normal” days.

My sister: I got pepper sprayed for training today!
My mom: Pepper steak!? Was it good?

Leave a Reply

